Ancient Rome had three types of government, not four. They were themonarchy, the republic and the principate. The principate(erroneously called the “empire”) could be said to be divided intotwo types of singular rule, the principate and the dominate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *