The classical Greek orders of architecture, also known as columns, are classified into three categories. They can be Doric, Ionic, or Corinthian. The Doric order was the first to emerge and is the simpler one of the three. These columns are characterised by being squat with round and plain tops, which are called capitals. On top of the capital is a square called and abacus which connects the capital to the entablature. Next, the Ionic order is recognised by the spiral like forms on its capital. These can be called scrolls or volutes. This order is also characterised by a tapering in the column called an entasis. The last to appear was the Corinthian order, which is the most elaborately decorated of the three. These columns are recognised by an ornate capital with four scrolls and acanthus leaves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *